In Need of an Escape

I live on a rock. There is nothing to do except go hiking and to the beach. Everyday. The art museum is ok, but its so far away I never really go. I think I am going crazy. There are only so many books you can read before you want the adventure. Only so much time listening to music before your mind goes back to the daydream about the plane ticket saving you. About the college you will go to, what you will study, what you will do the rest of your life and where you will live. Somewhere I can have a house with a yard so that I can have a fetch dog. A place that rains with a bookshop and a Starbucks in walking distance, yet a big enough town where you don’t know everyone’s name and there is something to do every weekend. Well, I guess they don’t have to be in walking distance just not too far.

I have been looking at colleges. But I need to figure out what I want to do. I know I want to write, I think it would be great to be a journalist for a magazine. Maybe a travel magazine like Sunset. I might also want to be an author and write books that take people to different lands, giving them the escape I am looking for.

Than I got off topic (like this) and tried to draw. “Tried” being the operative word. I have always felt that I suck at drawing. I have only ever wanted to draw people, girls, I can’t seem to think of anything else. I want to impress someone one day with this awesome realistic drawing. Yet I don’t think its in my future.

So today was a little depressing. Drawing tends to do that too me. And who knew an escape was so hard to find? Have a good Labor Day and week!

2 thoughts on “In Need of an Escape

  1. Don’t you worry about the pressure of trying to figure out what you want to do. Honestly, most people don’t know what they want to do for the rest of their life while their IN college, much less AFTER college. You want to be a journalist? GO FOR IT! Don’t let anything hold you back. You want to be an artist? YOU DON’T SUCK. You love it; people will see that love through your drawings and that makes them beautiful.
    -Kaitlyn 🙂

Leave Your Odd Thoughts and Smiles...

