Paper Towns by John Green Book Review!

Image

I must first start off with how much I loved this book. Actually, how much I love John Green’s books in general. I’ve never been disappointed or regretted reading one of his books, I think that is impossible. I have however been heartbroken by his books. This book wasn’t like Looking for Alaska or the Fault in Our Stars, it was not heartbreaking. It was shocking, and sometimes sad. But not a heartbreaking book, so don’t be afraid to read this one!

Goodreads:

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs back into his life – dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge – he follows.

After their all-nighter ends and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues – and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer Q gets, the less Q sees the girl he thought he knew.

The first time I picked up this book I thought Margo was an actress. So I put down the book down and picked it up again about a year later. I felt stupid (and still do) for thinking that Margo was an actress. But then I realized, she was. She pretended to be someone different to every person she meet. And don’t we do the same thing? Don’t we have certain reactions and expectations for different people? People who we just smile and nod, who we treat as a kid even if they are older than you and people who we look for to talk too? I know I do. In a way we all are acting for different people.

Anyways, this book was a mystery. Like all of John Green’s books you really get to know the characters. Even if you hardly see Margo, her clues help you get to know her the best. Some quotes I love from Margo Roth Spiegelman (Don’t you just love that name?) are…

“Yeah. I’m a big believer in Random capitalization. The rules of Capitalization are so Unfair to words in The middle.”

“Everything’s uglier close up.”

“Nothing ever happens like you imagine it will.”

“But before he was this minor figure in the drama of my life, he was the central figure in the drama of his own life.”

“There are a thousand ways to look at it: maybe the strings break, or maybe our ships sink, or maybe we’re grass-our roots so interdependent that no one is dead as long as someone is still alive. But you have to be careful which metaphor you choose, because it matters. If you chose the strings, then you’re imagining a world in which you can become irreparable broken…. The strings make pain seem more fatal than it is.”

There was many messages in Paper Towns. One of them that go to me was that, we always see a little bit of ourselves in people. We always want people to do what we would have done. Does that make sense? We get disappointed with people for not doing what we think they should have done, what we would have done. We get mad at people for doing something we would never have done, when it was all they could think about it. It was perhaps the only option for that person, it was the only thing they could do.

Image

I would suggest this book to anyone! It makes you think. What do you want to accomplish in this life? What are your goals? How do you see other people and how do they see you? Do you have high expectations of others? Do you expect people to do what you would do? Are their any Paper Towns nearby or interesting people to meet?

I also love this quote by Margo Roth Spiegelman (and other quotes)-

Image

ImageImageImage

Image

And one last reason to love John Green:

Image

5 thoughts on “Paper Towns by John Green Book Review!

  1. Great review, been looking forward to reading this since Monday. I’ve always been wary of reading John Greens books because of how heartbreaking I’ve heard they are and I don’t want to sit in bed crying like a little girl at 1 in the morning. It sounds like I’ll be able to handle this though, so it’s going on the ‘to-read’ list!

  2. Hi! Paper Towns is by far one of my favourite novels and I’m really fascinated by the ideas John Green explores in it, reading about how you perceived these ideas was very interesting 🙂

Leave Your Odd Thoughts and Smiles...

