Review on Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

20131228-150234.jpg

(I think that they fit the characters!)

Hi guys! I just finished Fangirl, for the second time! I love this book! And I am going to be writing a review! Here is the Goodreads description….

From the author of the New York Times bestseller Eleanor & Park.

A coming-of-age tale of fan fiction, family and first love.

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan . . .

But for Cath, being a fan is her life — and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

Sounds good, doesn’t it? Rainbow Rowell, one of my favorite authors is the author! This was the first book I read by here, and probably my favorite by her! Did you know that she wrote the first draft for this book when she was working on Nanowrimo? I think I read that somewhere.

Rainbow Rowell takes you to another world. We follow Cath during her first year as a freshmen in college. We watch as she grows up, and she does she devolpes into an amazing grown women. (That sounded werid) She gives hope to all of us bookworms, that we actually have a small chance at finding someone as sweet as Levi. Who, I just love. It’s hard, impossible even, not too love him! I want to find someone and fall in love with someone who accepts my craziness, my moods, and the fact that I sometimes have a hard time being in public. Like Levi!

Anyways, back to Cath. We cried during her heartbreaks and trips to hospitals, got angry at the people who betrayed at her, we got angry at her for lots of different reasons, and fell in love with the story and characters.

I thought that it was interesting to read about Mr.Avery, Cath and Wren’s father. I can’t imagine growing up that way. And I hate Laura, how could she just leave? Why would Wren want to reconnect with her…. Now at least. Well, I mean I guess I would want to know my mother. But I would have wanted her when I was a teenage, or a younger teenager. I would take Cath’s side. (Not that anyone would be asking me or that my opinion would matter but still…) And, I like the name Wren better. I would rather be named Wren then Cather. But Cath is my favorite twin and character. I relate to her the most.

Rainbow amazed us with the difficult turns in life, and her flawless writing. She might even be my favorite author. I feel that she is magic, did she attend Watford School of Magicks with Simon and Baz? And I love that she incorporated them, not only to add some light on the world of Fanfiction but also to have a gay couple. At the same time that she wrote Cath’s and Levi’s romance. I liked that touch.

Ok, I really just want to fangirl about how much I love Levi and Cath. I can’t tell you how many times I have laughed out loud while reading this book. Even with this being my second time reading the book, Rainbow still just knocks me off my feet. If you haven’t read this book, I highly suggest it. I really want to join that Fiction writing college course and have Professor Piper.
Hope you all have a great day and weekend!

20131228-150328.jpg

3 thoughts on “Review on Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Leave Your Odd Thoughts and Smiles...

