I am Beautiful Because… A Beautiful Project!

Image

I know, messiest handwriting ever. Hi guys! Today I would like to introduce a beautiful project started by the gals over at the Duck and the Owl and Jennifer of Apartment Wife! This project is promote self love, for everyone to know that they are beautiful.

The Duck and the Owl said:

“How comfortable are you in admitting to others and yourself that you’re beautiful? For most people, it’s difficult to admit that, “Yes, I am beautiful.”

For some time now, it’s been frowned upon to think of yourself as beautiful – those who do are deemed as stuck up or conceited.

We want to end this.

Valentine’s Day is coming up – a day we use to focus on love. But more often than not, we forget about the most important person in our lives, ourselves. This Valentine’s Day Week, we (along with Jen) want to challenge you to celebrate and love yourself.

Throughout the week this week, we want you to share with us why you are beautiful. Finish this sentence: “I am beautiful because…”

Feel free to finish this thought however you wish. It can be something physical, but it can go beyond that as well. Celebrate yourself. Show the world that you are beautiful and that it’s okay to celebrate your own beauty, in fact, that’s what makes you strong.”

Jennifer said:

“To me, feeling beautiful has never had anything to do with what I see in the mirror.  I’ve always seen beauty as something internal that connects me to the people and things that I love…

My beauty advisor is not Vogue or Glamour or Lucky, but Antoine de Saint-Exupery.  In The Little Prince, the author writes, “the most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or touched — they must be felt with the heart.” I have a similar outlook on life and think that beauty goes beyond appearance: it is the way we live our life, the way we interact with others, and the influence that we have on the world.  In essence, beauty is a lifestyle rather than an image.”

I think that these are both very inspiring points of view. I’ve had my own experience with this subject. Haven’t we all? Everyone has had bad days. Days where we just don’t want to look in the mirror, don’t want to leave the house, just want to wear comfy pants and an old shirt. Well…. I have lots of these days and they aren’t all bad. What I am trying to say is that everyone has self doubts about themselves. Ok, I am just going to be completely honest here. I have never been a skinny, small girl. Always the tallest in my class, ‘bigger’ than everyone else. And that got/gets to me. I hate this fact. I hate when I don’t want to look in the mirror because I want the image in my head to be real, not reality. I was at for me, an all time low. (Which isn’t saying much, since I know it’s gonna get worse… Not a happy fact.) I don’t really know what snapped me out of it. Maybe I was/am just so sick of putting myself down. I got on Pinterest and looked up a bunch of optimistic quotes. Quotes about loving yourself. I spent awhile looking through pictures, saving the ones that really got to me. Recently, I have decided that: No, I don’t like what I look like, but I am going to work to change it. I am going to exercise more. I am going to cook more, and I am going to make healthy food. I am going to only eat until I am full, not overloading just because it’s the best food in the world and I may never get to taste this heaven again… 

That was great and all, but I am having a hard time keeping to this motto. Yesterday I stepped on one of those weight measures, it wasn’t pretty. After being down for awhile, looking at Pinterest, finding new workouts, dancing to music, singing into a comb with a silly hat on (seriously. This worked the best.) I decided on something. (Again. I am pretty good at making decisions that I don’t stick to!) I am not the smallest. But I am happy. (Insert last speech here) And no one can take my self confidence away. I am beautiful. Even if I am the only one who knows it, I am. 

So, that’s been working for today! I love this project, you guys should think about participating too! Have a great and beautiful week! Here is my Pinterest quote page, I like to think it is happy inspiring! (Usually)

I was inspired by this quote:

Image

6 thoughts on “I am Beautiful Because… A Beautiful Project!

    1. I think that you should! It was fun, and it came at the perfect time for me. I believe that everyone needs to be reminded that they are beautiful, no matter how confident they seem to be. 🙂

  1. Love this, Taylor. Thank you for being so honest. And I’m glad that you ended up with these thoughts: ” I am not the smallest. But I am happy. (Insert last speech here) And no one can take my self confidence away. I am beautiful. Even if I am the only one who knows it, I am.” And the secret is that everyone already knows you’re beautiful. You’re always the only person who has trouble seeing it.
    -Kaitlyn 🙂

    1. I had to say this, I need/ed someone to hear my thoughts. So, thank you! And really everyone for being so awesome! 🙂 I love your last two lines! That is the big secret, isn’t it?

  2. Such a wonderful and inspiring post that I’m pretty sure most of us can relate to ❤ I remember feeling similar pressure to be a right size, and, after a while, I just threw the scale away (no joke – I don't have one). I try and focus on being happy (just like you) and trying to make the world a nicer place for the people around me 🙂 You're beautiful the way you are — we all are — and we just have to keep reminding ourselves.

Leave Your Odd Thoughts and Smiles...

