Do You Think That Human’s Are A Flawed Race?

Hi guys! Happy Wednesday! Recently, I have learned that I am a history enthusiast. I’ve been learning about wars, now it is World War 2. My teacher told us a common phrase, History repeats itself. Why do you think that?

My friend said that it is because human’s are a flawed race. That we feel like we need to fight. We need to control.

My teacher shoot back that you can’t just say that we are flawed. You can not put all of the blame on that. We have control of our actions and our feelings. We, as humans, have the ability to defy our supposed ‘defective’ nature.

Do you think that human’s are a flawed race? Do you feel the urge to fight and control. I don’t think that the fighting has to be physical, don’t we sometimes feel the urge to fight verbally. To defend ourselves? Because in that moment we feel right, we feel in control. And, I think, that we need a sense of control to survive. We need to feel in control of ourselves. This is why people rebel, because they don’t feel in control of themselves.

Does this mean that we are flawed?

Flaw means,

  • a feature that mars the perfection of something; defect; fault:
  • a defect impairing legal soundness or validity.
  • a crack, break, breach, or rent.

When you think of it like that, no; humans are not perfect. But I feel that people are different. (Well, obviously…) That yes, humans need to have control and yes, we do fight. Yet, military officials take this to a whole new level. Most humans are ok with not controlling the entire world. Not owning that country as well as ours. We don’t need control of others. We just need to know that we can do anything (within reason) that we want. We want to be right, even if that involves fighting. I think that being right makes you feel in control.

Yet, this can not be our justification for picking fights with every person we see. This can not make it right to control others. To take away their options.

So, I agree with both my friend and my teacher. Humans are perfectly imperfect.

What do you think? Yes, I know that I was rambling…

Do you feel that humans need to feel in control? That being right is being in control? That humans always have to fight. Is there another way? 

Have a good day! 😀

6 thoughts on “Do You Think That Human’s Are A Flawed Race?

  1. In short, I think we fight and search for control because we have so little control. We’re told what we should eat, how we should think, what we should wear, how we should speak, what’s right and what’s wrong .. We don’t question what we’re told.. we don’t have enough control over our own thoughts because of all the external influences.. Whatever we’re doing right now, I think we’re doing it wrong.. Very good discussion topic! I could go on for hours lol

    1. Thanks! I was kind of rambling, but it is something to think about. Funny, I was thinking of writing about influences but wanted to write about this! It seems that to many things are out of our control, which makes us fight.

  2. And there’s this massive amount of GREED that drives this world and that’s why we have wars.. over money (oil) which is perceived, by most to go hand in hand with control… .. and that is totally wrong.

    1. I agree, there is to much greed in this world. Greed can make people do bad things… I think it’s awful, power does seem to go hand in hand with control…

  3. I think that humans are indeed perfectly important, but that we’re all inherently good, which is important to remember. Even the most “horrible” people are, at their core, good.
    -Kaitlyn 🙂

Leave Your Odd Thoughts and Smiles...

