“Much talking i…

“Much talking is the cause of danger. Silence is the means of avoiding misfortune. The talkative parrot is shut up in a cage. Other birds, without speech, fly freely about.”

-Saskya Pandita

Hi guys! How has your day been? Unfortunately today has been a sick day for me. My voice sounds like a mix between an old lady and a murderous demon. A very uncomfortable feeling. So, I decided to make myself useful instead of just siting on my butt all day. Although I did get to finish Ignite Me, why did it end?? Why can’t there be a 4th book?

Anyways, I wanted to share this quote. Do you think silence is freedom? Or is the parrot really the one free? Free to say his mind, and not let his possible regrets haunt him.

I would love to say that silence is freedom. I would love to confess that I am quiet. Because I like quiet people, introverts. I feel that people who are quiet and just get things done, really make a difference. But I would be lying.

What about the leaders? While a quiet person could be a leader, a silent person couldn’t be one. A leader is someone everyone looks up to, one who is calm when the world seems to fall apart and someone who gives smart orders. A lot to push onto a person, don’t you think? And yet, we see them every where. In books, movies- writers love to create them. But even in everyday life, we see them. We envy their calmness, we feel thankful that someone knew the answers and that someone told us what to do. Because at times, we don’t want to act and we just want someone to tell us what to do.

As humans we make mistakes, it’s just part of nature. Even leaders. And because of their position their mistakes are more grave. They become caged, just because they opened their mouth. Just because they had the confidence to speak up. Is that power? Is that freedom? Maybe parrots (no, not the bird.) are trying to make everything better. Maybe people who have enough confidence to speak up are fools.

And, aren’t the birds ‘flying freely about’ trapped in their own prison? A prison of silence and solitude. Because they can’t speak up, even if they wanted to.

I think people build their own prisons. Either with silence or with words. I don’t think a person should be just one. I think a well rounded person, a true leader, acts with the knowledge of silence and the power of words. (I really like that line.) I think that we should try to speak less and learn to observe. Learn what silences can tell us. I think we should speak more, during the right times. Not to anger or hurt another. But to help. I think thats what a leader does and what a parrot and a speechless bird, tries to accomplish. I think thats what we should try to work on.

With these words in mind, I hope you all have a great day! And that you don’t get sick, it sucks! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on ““Much talking i…

  1. hope you feel better soon! and wow – this was wonderful – I like how you led up to that rich last paragraph – because you are so right – there is a time to speak up and a time to refrain from speaking up (or as you note, for silence) and well, just so much good stuff here…
    🙂
    and liked this especially:

    “people build their own prisons. Either with silence or with words.”

  2. Thank you so much! That means so much to me. 🙂 I am starting to feel better, resting can help so much! I had a lot of fun writing this, so I am glad that you liked it!

Leave Your Odd Thoughts and Smiles...

