Extraordinary People #1: Shane Koyczan

Extraordinary People #1: Shane Koyczan

Hello everyone! Today I am introducing a new project/collection of posts, I don’t really know what to call it. Extraordinary People, showcases certain people (or groups) that have inspired me. Either with their words, voice, actions or characters. I wanted to do someone extra special for my first (real) post back and I wanted to kickstart this new project!

Has anyone seen the beautiful video, To This Day? Or heard of the To This Day project? If you haven’t, then watch it now! It is a spoken poem video with animations, and let me tell you, it’s pretty dang powerful. I am listening to this poem now (but you should really watch it to get the whole effect), so this ‘review’ is fresh. (Although, I’ve heard this poem many times before. I’m mouthing along with some of the words…)

Shane has such a powerful voice and a huge skill in writing. And this poem isn’t his only good one, he has a bunch more that are as equally powerful. This one is my favorite. I also like Tomatoes (the poem, I hate the fruit)

You can’t describe a person with a word, a paragraph or even a book. But I’m trying to give you a little bit of an idea of him. Koyczan grew up in Northwestern Canada. If you’ve heard the poem than you know, he was bullied as a kid. Viciously. But instead of letting his grief overtake him, he made something out of his experiences. He’s written poems and a book (Visiting Hours) that teaches the world what it really is like to be bullied. In such a chilling way, that you get goosebumps. (seriously, these goosebumps aren’t from the 75 degree weather) He is trying to inspire the world against bullying. Koyczan doesn’t sugar coat the bad, and there’s something to say for that.

If you need to be inspired some more, here are some verses I’ve taken from his poem To This Day:

to this day
despite a loving husband
she doesn’t think she’s beautiful
because of a birthmark
that takes up a little less than half of her face
kids used to say she looks like a wrong answer
that someone tried to erase
but couldn’t quite get the job done

and if you can’t see anything beautiful about yourself
get a better mirror
look a little closer
stare a little longer
because there’s something inside you
that made you keep trying
despite everyone who told you to quit

If you would like to hear more about Shane Koyczan try his website, this interview and this biography. I got my information from these websites, and they are really good! Especially the interview which is insightful.

I would love to hear your opinions on Shane Koyczan’s poems. 🙂 Or about this new tradition! Have a great rest of your weekend.

Leave Your Odd Thoughts and Smiles...

