My Try At Graphic Designing (SCD #9)

Dictionary.com says that graphic design means “the art or profession of visual communication that combines images, words, and ideas to convey information to an audience, especially to produce a specific effect.”

As of yesterday, my five weeks of graphic design is over. I had a lot of fun, and learned a lot. Before these past five weeks, I never really knew what graphic design was. I knew that it was logos and pretty art, but never knew the depth of it. Take a moment to think of all the logos in the world, those were all created by someone to make you feel something. To McDonalds signs to ‘No Parking Here’ signs, graphic design is everywhere.

Although I tried many different styles and techniques, I am only showing one style today. I don’t know if this is the right name, but my instructor called it blend modes. And I know blend modes is far more complex that this, it’s just a type of it. My class and I got black and white pictures from the internet, messed with the shadows and opacity levels, and then added color. I really enjoy how simple this art style is.

Taylor_Blendmode

Untitled-1

What do you guys think? I know the red eyed one is a little creepy… Yes, that is a Beatles quote from their song Yesterday. I love the cafe one, it was my first try at the blend modes. I used the primary colors for seats, using the most of red to make it pop. (Did you know that red and yellow boost your metabolism, which makes you more hungry? Which logo do we know uses both red and yellow…) At first I was going to go with a romantic feel, make it seem like a lost love. But that would have been two chairs, these four aren’t romantic. Their friendly, what if a group of friends used to come here all the time? They sat on those chairs, picked one of those sugars. One day, they got into an argument. Maybe the black (I know it’s not a primary color, but it works) did something bad, (other than the obvious reason) why is that chair black? What made the chair pull away from his brightly colored friends? Can their yesterday’s fairytale become their future’s? Or is the past in the past and will these friends never see each other again? (Wow, look how deep chairs can be…)

These pictures really goes to show you one of the biggest rules of graphic deign: K.I.S.S. Keep It Simple, Stupid. 🙂 While you can make huge extravagant pictures, can’t you say as much with just a few elements? Do we really need to make such a huge deal out of everything in life? What if everything was more simple, do you think it would be a relief or boring?

Have a great day and weekend!

2 thoughts on “My Try At Graphic Designing (SCD #9)

Leave Your Odd Thoughts and Smiles...

